BNW Banner BNW Banner
Nayantara Sahgal

Nayantara Sahgal

Nayantara Sahgal's last two novels are When the Moon Shines by Day and The Fate of Butterflies, which is also published in Germany. She returned her Sahitya Akademi Award in 2014 in protest against the murder of three writers and the Akademi's silence at the time. She speaks and writes against attacks on the freedom of expression.


Fiction as Resistance to the Un-making of India

Nayantara Sahgal in conversation with Jayanti Naju Seth

A glimpse into the inspirations and creativity of an outstandingly courageous and eloquent storyteller. Nayantara Sahgal’s early memoir Prison and Chocolate Cake was published in 1954. She has written more than 18 books and novels in a career spanning over six decades. Her life has been marked by idealism and a commitment to her beliefs. She remains a prolific writer with recent novels that include The Fate of Butterflies and When The Moon Shines By Day. In conversation with Jayanti Naju Seth, Sahgal examines her writing and the essence of her recent work.